Maine Auto Insurance Requirements

If you register a vehicle in Maine you will need to provide proof of state minimum insurance coverage. The Maine Bureau of Insurance mandates the coverages. 

Here is a list of the State of Maine Minimum coverage limits

Liability insurance $50,000 / $100,000 total 

Medical coverage $2,000 minimum coverage

Property Damage $25,000

Personal Injury ProtectionOptional

Comprehensive Optional

Collision Optional

What if I get caught without insurance?

A  $500 fine and 30 day suspension of driving privileges could be possible. The state of maine can also suspend your licensce and vehicle registration. Your insurance will continue to be suspended until you can provide proof of insurance. 

What determines my premium for car insurance in Maine?

Cheap Car Insurance Maine can give you a quote over the phone. in under 15 minutes in most cases. They need to get some information from you such as Name, Date of Birth, Driving record and in some cases credit check. 

Factors that will impact insurance rates in Maine:

- how many accidents you have been in
- how many claims you have had
- has your car ever been reported stolen?

- credit

- listed drivers

- how many driving offenses you have

- do you need to file an sr22

- neighborhood

- how far you drive daily

- do you drive to work or do you drive for pleasure?

The average auto insurance premium for people that live in Maine just under $600, which ranks Maine at number two for cheapest average premium throughout the country.

For Tips for Obtaining Cheap Car Insurance in Maine please click here

Who drives in the state of Maine?

Maine is pretty large if you look at square mileage, but if you look at population compared to other states, not so much. Maines most recent  2015 census stated that the population is 1,329,328 according to wikipedia. The Federal Highway Administration did a study that approximately 1,015,000 were licensed to drive in the state of Maine. Men came in at just above 500,000 drivers while women were just above 510,000 drivers.

Car Insurance Companies will not base your premium on gender. However, age is a different story. Young drivers equal higher premiums. In Maine as of late 2012 just over 40,000 drivers were 19 and below.  Ages 50 to 54 came in with a total of 106,894 licensed drivers.

Call now to get a Quote: 

​Open 24 Hours!!!

Call now to get a Quote: 

​Open 24 Hours!!!

Maine Auto Insurance

Save Money

We'll explain all the possible solutions you have.

Learn More


Did you know?

Taking driver safety courses helps qualify you for Cheap Car Insurance by giving you a "safe driver" discount.


Saving Money Tip

While shopping around for Cheap car Insurance ask your Agent if there is an app or device that tracks safe driving


Tip for safer driving

Its easier to get Cheap Car Insurance with a clean driving record.and safe vehicle 


Insurance Services

Maine Auto Insurance